Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

7 months ago

So much good stuff!

I'm just getting back into serious cycling in the last 6 months and started using the "video game" app to help make indoor riding more enjoyable. I quickly burned through their intermediate/advanced plans and after getting hooked on the Ask A Cycling Coach podcast I signed up for TrainerRoad to take it to the next level. I was able to easily build a tailored plan for my goals this year and the calendar has been amazing! I love the in depth descriptions provided by Coach Chad for both the plans and the workouts, you really know what you're getting into and what you'll get out of it. Amazing product, great resources with things like the forum and I'm expecting big things coming into this years road race season. Thank you!

Jason B. / United States

7 months ago

Best Cycling Podcast by FAR!

Outstanding! Provides a wide range of information related to all aspects of cycling, health, nutrition, and general fitness ... very beneficial for ANY serious cyclist or triathlete!

Kevin / United States

7 months ago

I wish 4.5 stars was an option...

Giving only 4 stars feels a bit harsh but for me TrainerRoad isn't perfect to warrant 5 stars. I was drawn to TrainerRoad back in 2014 and have been a user on and off ever since with only the past couple of years using seriously. Initially it was the ability to follow other workouts from Graeme Street (Cyclo-Core) and then Sufferfest workouts (before they had their own platform and they were removed) that pulled me in. As I got more serious about training and wanting to target specific events that's when I found the benefit of TrainerRoads own plans. They cover every scenario and volume level I will ever need although I would like to see them introduce more non trainer workouts that are of benefit to cyclists as supplemental to their current plans. The podcast has been an invaluable source of knowledge over the past few years and I think I've pretty much listened to every episode now. Recently the introduction of the calendar and ride analysis features has really been a huge improvement and I know longer have any need to pay for Strava because of this. The forum has also been a welcome addition and is way better than using Facebook for posing questions to fellow subscribers. So why not 5 stars? Well the plans are 5 star and the only feature I can find fault with (and this may not even be TrainerRoads fault) is the Powermatch feature when using a power meter alongside an erg mode trainer. I know I'm not the only one with frustrations on this as there is plenty of comment on this in the forum and a feel it's an area that needs improvement. I'm cautious of being over critical given TrainerRoad don't make powermeters or trainers so it's always a matter of integrating with 3rd parties which can be difficult. That being said I am using pretty popular and mainstream products so not a home built products I'm expecting TrainerRoad to integrate faultlessly with. The other item that pulls down the rating is previously mentioned regarding the addition of non trainer workouts as an additional option. Looking forward to what new features are coming in 2019.

Phil C. / United Kingdom

7 months ago

Exceeded my Expectations

I am predominantly an outdoor rider. So, before I decided to purchase TrainerRoad I posed the question in the forum, "Is TrainerRoad worth it for a predominantly outdoor rider?" Within 2 hours I had over 20 comments providing insightful and helpful advice from the TrainerRoad community. I was immediately sold. I have just completed 9 weeks of training and find the workout plans provide a healthy amount of training stress and rest. The calendar and the performance analytics are user friendly and intuitive. One of the best things is the TrainerRoad Podcast: Amazing balance of training science and banter-Absolutely the best!

Devin D.

7 months ago

Best for all cyclists needing a "push"

Been a paying subscriber since day one (2011 ?) and have tried all the other options but nothing keeps me motivated as the workouts in TR.

Bill D. / United States

7 months ago

Brevity is the Soul of Wit and TrainerRoads Secret to Success

2017 was the fastest and strongest riding season I've had since getting back into cycling in 2007. Winters brought mixed feelings about going to the basement to get on the bike, but a new smart trainer and a new subscription to TrainerRoad turned the "all-to-frequent" debate in my head about riding or doing something else, as I descended the stairs, into an "I can't wait to ride my bike on the trainer" experience. A perfect system for the time crunched cyclist (The Brevity). So many plans and ways to customize your training. Winter training and, frankly, year round indoor training became a whole new world. I love it and I WILL NEVER QUIT MY SUBSCRIPTION unless I'm dead or can no longer ride a bike. I hope the former comes before the latter.

Lance K. / United States

7 months ago

Does what it says on the tin.

It promises to provide well thought out , tried and tested plans and it does exactly that. The calendar is now the killer feature and combined with the analytics functionality there is no need for Training Peaks or Strava Premium. The user interface is nice and simple and works well on my PC. Th bonus is the podcast which whilst available to anybody really does demonstrate the commitment the TrainerRoad team have towards developing better cyclists.

John H. / United Kingdom

9 months ago

TrainerRoad is an indispensable part of my cycling and health lifestyle. I use the workouts year-round to help me build and maintain fitness. I am faster on fewer hours thanks to TrainerRoad!

Kasey C. / United States

9 months ago

I keep getting faster!

Since I started using TrainerRoad two years ago, I have consistently broken through fitness plateaus to get faster and faster. I was already well-trained when I started and my FTP increased from ~230 to ~280. It's simple: follow the plan. I've used TR to prepare for all kinds of events: local crits, ultra-distance races, and 8-hr fondos through the Alps. Both my wife and I have accounts. I wish I hadn't told her about it because she's gotten her W/kg up to 4.5... meaning I should really stop eating those muffins. Here is what I like most about TR: - It loads quickly on my phone or computer. I don't have to spend time getting it setup every morning. It just works. - The focus is on the training and nothing else. - The new calendar feature and TSS tracking makes many other apps redundant, so that saves money and energy. - I love setting and tracking PRs per season and being able to compare seasonal power graphs. This was impossible to do in other apps. - The ability to increase/decrease the intensity of a workout on the fly. For example, if I'm nearing the end of a VO2Max interval and finding that I could go a little harder, I might decide to up the watts (usually at the end). Or I realize that this recovery ride is not feeling as easy as it should, I might drop the intensity. - The minimized view makes it easy for my wife to watch terrible TV shows while she ramps up her FTP higher and higher. Make it stop, Chad! - I appreciate the simple and thoughtful design of the app. I've used all available indoor training tools and TrainerRoad is the only I pay for.

Alhan K. / United States

9 months ago

The best purchase you can make....

Having ridden for approximately 10 years, I really learned to understand value in cycling especially when you are trying to advance (weather towards a race, or a basic 1/2 century). Of all the tools I've picked up over the years, TR is by far the best "bang for your buck". I have multiple power meters, race wheels, aero helmet, etc, and I tell everyone START WITH Trainer Road... then progress to the others. I have a busy schedule in the ER and Trainer Road allows me to know exactly how much, when, and why... leaving me time to concentrate on the other aspects of my life, not just noodling around wasting time. Try a year of TR, and trust me, you won't ever look back!

Tyson C. / United States

9 months ago

Worth every penny

The TrainerRoad crew has helped me go from a "barely finishing" triathlete to a "if I'm consistent in my training, I can win my age group in a local olympic distance race" athlete. I've gotten in the best shape of my life because of TrainerRoad.

David D. / United States