Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

10 being very likely, 1 being unlikely

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

3 months ago

Best gets better

Triathletes that take variable durations of downtime really appreciate the new Plan Builder. It really fills the gap. TR was already the #1 virtual training coach for our team. It allows those of us that don't have a human coach to plan. But, it keeps us all in sync by allowing our human coaches to use TR rides to dictate indoor training. Now that there's a super easy way to transition a TR ride to "outdoor" it's just literally "The BOM". Beyond that TR dev team is awesome. They have a regular bug release schedule and feature release schedule. This eliminates my need to "pester" TR with every little bug, annoyance and wish I see or imagine day, by week, by month, by year.

Pete K. / United States

3 months ago

What they said

TR is great: the software, the forum. the YouTube vids, the podcast (of course), all of it. I trust them. I trust their motives. Yes, they're a business, but they are cyclists, and they are dedicated to making us (as the say) faster cyclists. The podcast is entertaining and informative. The training software is simple and elegant, but it's bottomless in its potential. I am very glad they do what they do. Thanks, guys.

John H. / United States

3 months ago

This is next level stuff

I can't thank you all enough for putting such a good product and podcast in our sport. That's what got me into racing and improving myself. I have learned so much new stuff about training, racing, nutrition, health related stuff and list goes on and on.. I am relistening to all of your podcasts from the start as I did before in random order. It's an awesome podcast, the best for me actually and I'm never bored of your voices. Keep on doing what you are doing - you are the rare diamond in the cycling community! Cheers guys!

Tadas K. / Lithuania

3 months ago

Great product

Stick to the training plans and you will get faster.

Philip C. / United Kingdom

3 months ago

Painful but works! So nice to have contact with the founders and creators

If you put in the hard work, then these training plans and the platform yield great results. The biggest selling point for me is the contact with the designers and coaches of the platform. Seeing them weekly on YouTube or listening via podcasts respond to users questions or making changes/ requests to the app keep me coming back. And it also spurs me on to keep training.

STUART G. / United Kingdom

3 months ago

the Best tool beginners like me

Thanks for a great training resource and the other bits like "ask a cycling coach" podcast and the forum it creates a great environment for helping people like me. I've only been cycling for a year and half so a lot to learn and a long way to go.

Dexter C. / Australia

7 months ago

Fantastic virtual trainer!!!

Hi,I would like to share my little story about this app. Last year (2018) I have signed up for Ironman UK - my first long distance ! As a many of us ,to be a parent and have full time job is not easy ,especially to train,have personal coaches or be a member of the clubs so I have decided to choose Trainer Road. I start my training about 7 months before the race with FTP 270 and few weeks before the race day I was on FTP 315 .I have really enjoyed all of the workouts including swim and run ( forgot to say I ran my fastest London Marathon 2:57:03 in the middle of the preparation for IMUK). After the hard work I put through I knew I was quite ready for the challenge but I didn't know I will do it so well: - I have finished 76th of over 1700 - 10th in my age category (just 5 slots away from Kona Qualification) I have to say big THANK YOU to TrainerRoad for helping me for achieving this and I know TrainnerRoad is worth every penny. THANK YOU !!!

mariusz c. / United Kingdom

10 months ago

Very Helpful

I bought myself a Wahoo Trainer and was ready to rock and roll. I researched the most common training apps. I settled on TrainerRoad. I could not be happier. Customer support is excellent and the FAQ section is easy to use. I am a sales person not an I.T. person. I have added a training plan to the calendar they provide. TrainerRoad dumbed down the software enough for a simple person like me to use flawlessly. I am going to recommend TrainerRoad to the 1647 members of my triathlon group.

Allen / United States

1 year ago

Best in Class

Great product to effectively train towards your cycling and triathlon goals. People at TrainerRoad are striving for faster riders and great user experience, with a very large array of training, great planning tools, allowing a good platform for trainer and riders alike. Check also their Podcast "Ask a Cycling coach - Trainer Road" on your favorite podcast app for in-depth advice and tricks to become faster, smarter and have fun doing it Professional engineer working on a professional product. 5* all day

Jasmin T. / Japan

1 year ago

Amazing!!!

The information provided in these podcasts is amazing! Very well researched and explained well. I specifically like how even when they do not agree with a certain type of training, or style of dieting, they still uphold the merit of that fad, or what have you. Intermittent fasting for example - Coach Chad talks about how intermittent fasting is extremely effective in losing weight; referencing Jason Fong multiple times, but it is not effective for endurance athletes like us cyclists. It gives us looking for answers a unique understanding of what is essential for cyclists to maintain performance and increase FTP, W/kg, or whatever it is we seek, rather than focus on what can help you attain the best results with a certain factor of racing, i.e. weight. The other thing I enjoy is the race results, as well as the guest starring of THOR - Pete. It's nice to have real world contribution from a Pro Conti rider! 5+ stars for these guys! Amazing content and always fun to see them at my local races.

Griffin N. / United States

1 year ago

From 2.5w/kg to 4.35w/kg

TR hurts in the pain cave but it makes you faster - for sure. You'll beat guys with 5000km or more on the road because - not all TSS are created equal. On peak times, I ended up on roughly 4.7w/kg - on the same trainer with the same bike settings. This is fun on the roller and even much more outside!

Matthias / Switzerland

1 year ago

So much good stuff!

I'm just getting back into serious cycling in the last 6 months and started using the "video game" app to help make indoor riding more enjoyable. I quickly burned through their intermediate/advanced plans and after getting hooked on the Ask A Cycling Coach podcast I signed up for TrainerRoad to take it to the next level. I was able to easily build a tailored plan for my goals this year and the calendar has been amazing! I love the in depth descriptions provided by Coach Chad for both the plans and the workouts, you really know what you're getting into and what you'll get out of it. Amazing product, great resources with things like the forum and I'm expecting big things coming into this years road race season. Thank you!

Jason B. / United States

1 year ago

Trainerroad really does make you faster

Trainerroad doesnt need gimmiks to make you faster it just works, with a great team behind it, support is always fast and freindly, the podcast is always informative, helpful and with a sprinkle of humour.

Neil P. / United Kingdom

1 year ago

Everyone is faster than me, I'll never be as fit as them....

Your heart is racing, legs weak and wobbly, and the rest of your riding buddies are heading on up that hill you dread. This isn't any fun, and you'll never be as fast as them will you? sure they've been riding for years! Think again. TrainerRoad works, simple. All you have to do is commit and be consistent in your training and you *will* see improvements. Signing up and committing to a TrainerRoad plan is the single best thing I have done to improve my ability on the bike. I wish I had done it years ago. The structured training plan takes you through two phases of sweet spot work to build a solid base, after that you move on to building your power and then speciality, depending on your chosen discipline. The options for training are varied but revolve around a common theme of hard but repeatable efforts that can be completed without dedicating hours and hours to your ride. Most workouts take place over a course of 60-90 mins and are designed to give the maximum benefit in the least amount of time, and give you a quick recovery so you can train again the next day. TrainerRoad is more than just an app, it's a motivational tool, support structure and social environment. The team publish a weekly podcast 'dedicated to making you a faster cyclist' that is a great source of motivation and learning. The website is crammed with useful information and blog posts, and the forum is a great place to share, be inspired and also see for yourself how people just like you have seen huge gains in their fitness and speed. If I can give one bit of advice it is be consistent in completing your workouts and plans, with TrainerRoad that is the key to success. If you do that you won't go far wrong. and you'll be at the front of the pack when cycling soon enough.

Jon S. / United Kingdom

1 year ago

Best Complete Solution for Cycling Training

The list of features and functions is the best in the industry: - Large library of workouts - Many training plans from Base, Build and Specialty Phases. Each includes 3 volume options to meet any schedule needs. Many plans tailored to the wide range of cycling disciplines (road, dirt, etc.) and triathlon world. - Solid and easy to use analytics tools that avoid the tendency to dive too deep and lose the forest for the trees. - A scheduling calendar that makes adding and adjusting training plans easy. Includes the option to add events and annotations to fully document your training history. Then you get access to the quickest and most responsive technical support of any tech company that I have used. They work on your issue right away and respond with knowledgeable solutions to problems in short order. The free items of the TrainerRoad Forum and Ask A Cycling Coach podcast simply add to the paid value. The level of info and support from both of those is unmatched as a single source in the training world. Simply put, it's easily the best bang for buck on getting faster compared to any other expence.

Chad M. / United States

1 year ago

Best bang for your buck if you want to be faster

You can spend money on gear to make you faster, but we all know how that goes. Last year was my first year on TR and I can't tell you how much of a difference it made in my performance on the bike. The structure and the progression that is built into TR is specifically designed to make you faster and it works. With the new calendar and their constant integration of new features TR is the place all of the cool kids go to get faster!

Michael R. / United States

1 year ago

Trainerroad's simple and easy method of giving indoor training sessions some structure, which results in faster real-world times

Trainerroad gave me a simple and easy method of giving the indoor training sessions some structure. This last year I have also been following the training plans, and they are well rounded and they give measurable results. I really like the "simple" no-frills design that does not require a lot from the hardware or the idiot running it.

Stefan F. / Norway

1 year ago

Coach Chads In-Workout Instructions Take Workouts to Next Level

I find coach Chad's in-Workout instructions very helpful. It is like having a personal coach standing over your shoulder working with you on a one on one basis. I found Trainer Road more beneficial than the Hundred Dollar a month coach I was working with. There is so much more to coaching than just prescribing workouts. Coach Chad has worked with so may people he knows how and when to motivate you through a challenging session. Trainer Road/Coach Chad have improved my peddling efficiency and muscular endurance through a variety peddling drills on technique, improved my muscular endurance by guiding me through the process of finding a more efficient pedaling cadence to take load off my muscles and glycogen stores and ride more aerobically and more efficiently utilize my energy stores. TR/Coach Chad have also worked me through the process of being able to hold a more aerodynamic riding position for longer periods of time. Almost every workout focuses on so much more than just the prescribed workout intensities and duration. A variety of Items are covered in various workouts such as; Nutrition, bike fit, flexibility, proper recovery.... that are very helpful. The Support Staff has always been quick to respond to my training questions and take genuine interest that customers receive the best user experience possible. Trainer Road's Weekly Podcast with Coach Jonathan Lee, Coach Chad, TR CEO Nate Pearson and often with guests such as very knowledgeable and successful cyclists, coaches, authors, cycling teams... is an incredible scource of information each week. These folks share so much and answer so many people's questions each week - sharing just about anything cycling or trathalon related - a must listen for any serious cyclist or triathlete. Despite being in my 60's and using structured interval training for several years Trainer Road helped me shave 2 minutes off my 10k Time Trial Time! Thank You Trainer Road/Coach Chad and the entire Trainer Road Team.

Deb M. / United States

1 year ago

Best cycling training tool on the market

Started using Trainerroad just over a year ago and haven't looked back. Have made solid performance improvements following the training plans going from a FTP in the mid 200 to currently 309 (4.2W/kg). What's more, Trainerroad has made massive improvements on their product in the last year including performance analytics and the new calendar feature, making it easier to plan ahead and review rides and whole periods of training afterwards. This all without breaking the bank. And one last thing, their customer service is wonderful, quick to reply and very helpful. Have recommended Trainerroad to several people but the best advertising is people seeing the improvements riders have made by using trainerroad.

Kristof V. / Australia

1 year ago

TrainerRoad has really elevated my cycling game. As a dedicated user looking forward to — yes I said looking forward to — starting my 3rd season I highly recommend TR to all cyclists. No matter what level you are at today tomorrow's will be elevated thanks to TR.

Jeff S. / United States