Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6
  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10

10 being very likely, 1 being unlikely

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

8 months ago

Helping to Save Lives!

Hello! So just to be up front, I am not (yet) a paid subscriber. I'm 40 years old, live in Washington State, a husband & a father. I turned to cycling 4 years ago as a way to change my life. I bought a '04 TCR from Craigslist, rebuilt it from the frame up over winter learning as I went, & have just over 7k miles on it since Aug 2018. In 2013 I retired from law enforcement after 13 years at 315lbs, a raging alcoholic, & physically a real dumpster fire. At the time I thought medical problems were my reason for leaving, I was told I need a hip replacement, back surgery, & would most likely walk with a cane the rest of my life. After watching a documentary on a childhood "hero" using yoga to reinvent himself, I sat on my couch crying & decided to give it one last shot before succumbing to the knife. Yoga built me up so I could ride & I've reinvented who I am as a father, husband, and human being from the saddle. Yes my body was broken & weak, but I was suffering misdiagnosed PTSD (as are 80% of police officers) & I can now be honest with myself & the world at large. I never had any surgeries, I became plant based as did my whole family, quit alcohol & nicotine, & most everything that crippled me was my own doing....... apparently. I've turned myself into an amateur endurance athlete regularly completing 20+ hour training weeks riding 4 - 6 days anywhere from 3 - 5 hours generally. I'm 170lbs, still riding the Giant, & 100mi+ at 18mph+ average is my current fitness level. In fact tomorrow I set out for a solo 150 on my birthday just to prove I can! So how has TR played a part in all this? As I mentioned, I have yet to subscribe but if life ever blesses me I would love to. Honestly my family has to come first, the last couple years have been a struggle for us, so I stay on my trusty older bike for now. I have full sensors, but never could ethically spend the money on a power meter or personal trainer while my family still has needs. That being said, I'm a person with a high cognitive load & my favorite for long rides is podcasts, which is where TR has become a constant source of information, science, & companionship during huge days in the saddle. You truly are "tip of the spear" & along with other learning I've been able to change my life; & in no small part you have helped to save me. Thank you SO much for EVERYTHING you do for the cycling community & sports science in general. I truly hope life affords me the ability to view power & a program one of these days, but until then I genuinely appreciate what you've done for my life. I'll never be a racer & that was never my goal, just health, fitness, and optimizing who I am today to be better for tomorrow!

Travis S. / United States

8 months ago

Awesome Training and Customer Service

I am new to TrainerRoad but I am already loving the progress. After doing 1 week of workouts, I went outside and had my best ride speed wise. I dd 23.5 miles with a avg speed of 18.6! I can't wait to get more training in because I'm certain TrainerRoad will get me to my goal of averaging 20 mph on any given day! Also, Gillian, a customer service rep was awesome in assisting me! 10/10

Orlando M. / United States

2 years ago

Best Training Product Available

Quite simply the guys at Trainerroad know what they’re doing. From training plans to podcasts with the added bonus of the performance analytics, calendar and great community this will make you a faster cyclist. Trust in the process and you will achieve your goals & beat your competition!

Lewis R. / United Kingdom

2 years ago

Best gets better

Triathletes that take variable durations of downtime really appreciate the new Plan Builder. It really fills the gap. TR was already the #1 virtual training coach for our team. It allows those of us that don't have a human coach to plan. But, it keeps us all in sync by allowing our human coaches to use TR rides to dictate indoor training. Now that there's a super easy way to transition a TR ride to "outdoor" it's just literally "The BOM". Beyond that TR dev team is awesome. They have a regular bug release schedule and feature release schedule. This eliminates my need to "pester" TR with every little bug, annoyance and wish I see or imagine day, by week, by month, by year.

Pete K. / United States

2 years ago

Great Training Inside and Outside

I joined TrainerRoad before they had outside workouts and really only used it in the winter, but now that they have outside workouts it has been amazing and getting better. The new Plan Builder is probably the best part of the program. Join up and they can help you be ready for all your big races. The Podcast is also awesome to listen to while you ride.

alex h. / United States

2 years ago

Best in class!

The best training program on the market! It is like having a personal coach at almost no cost!

Alan B. / United States

2 years ago

What they said

TR is great: the software, the forum. the YouTube vids, the podcast (of course), all of it. I trust them. I trust their motives. Yes, they're a business, but they are cyclists, and they are dedicated to making us (as the say) faster cyclists. The podcast is entertaining and informative. The training software is simple and elegant, but it's bottomless in its potential. I am very glad they do what they do. Thanks, guys.

John H. / United States

2 years ago

Easiest 5 star review I have ever awarded!

I can't say enough good stuff about TR! It has helped me improve my fitness and my speed. It has taught me how to ride with a much more efficient cadence. It has taught me how & why to ride outdoors with a power meter. TR is constantly improving and tweaking the software & app. TR listens to feedback and actually implements feedback into the development of the program. TR makes me want to get on the bike indoors. If you are a serious cyclist you must try TR!

Brad J. / United States

2 years ago

Great product

Stick to the training plans and you will get faster.

Philip C. / United Kingdom

2 years ago

Highly Recommended

I'm not a competitive rider but I use TrainerRoad as the main part of my fitness program. Since I started structured training with TrainerRoad, I've lost over 20 pounds and improved FTP by 53 watts. I pair TrainerRoad with Wahoo Kickr and iOS. It just works. No issues at all. I love the convenience of training indoors, and I've learned a lot about training from the Podcast and following Coach Chad's plans. Great product. Great community. Highly recommended.

Keith R. / United States

2 years ago

Brilliant

Love everything about Trainerroad except for one thing........why couldn't it have been around when I was in my 20's instead of now in my 50's, lol.

Steven M. / United Kingdom

2 years ago

The best training tool out there!!

I just started using TrainerRoad this fall. I love it. I think it’s for the serious cyclist who is serious about their training. If you go by their plans, there’s no doubt you’ll get faster.

David G. / United States

2 years ago

the Best tool beginners like me

Thanks for a great training resource and the other bits like "ask a cycling coach" podcast and the forum it creates a great environment for helping people like me. I've only been cycling for a year and half so a lot to learn and a long way to go.

Dexter C. / Australia

2 years ago

My always ready, "very" fast riding partner

This app has really opened my eyes to overall fitness and power on the bike. Tried a bunch of other apps, but always felt unguided and training randomly with no expectations or goals. Very easy to customize a plan just for you with the calendar. The peddling and breathing drills are huge. Now I always have that just a little faster partner pushing me just enough... awesome and fun. The postcast is great too!

Al C. / United States

2 years ago

Fantastic virtual trainer!!!

Hi,I would like to share my little story about this app. Last year (2018) I have signed up for Ironman UK - my first long distance ! As a many of us ,to be a parent and have full time job is not easy ,especially to train,have personal coaches or be a member of the clubs so I have decided to choose Trainer Road. I start my training about 7 months before the race with FTP 270 and few weeks before the race day I was on FTP 315 .I have really enjoyed all of the workouts including swim and run ( forgot to say I ran my fastest London Marathon 2:57:03 in the middle of the preparation for IMUK). After the hard work I put through I knew I was quite ready for the challenge but I didn't know I will do it so well: - I have finished 76th of over 1700 - 10th in my age category (just 5 slots away from Kona Qualification) I have to say big THANK YOU to TrainerRoad for helping me for achieving this and I know TrainnerRoad is worth every penny. THANK YOU !!!

mariusz c. / United Kingdom

2 years ago

Very good software!

Used it to significantly improve my FTP and performance over the winter, and now use it outside! Highly recommend

Maxim L. / United States

2 years ago

My TR Fitness Level has Increased...Yeah!

So this weekend Saturday May 4th, 2019 was our annual eastern shore ride. It is the Eagleman 70.3 bike course which is a 56 mile ride that was really fun but the best part…I was faster and stronger then the guys I rode with. I knew it within the first 5 miles into the ride. As we were riding along at 19mph one guy said this pace was hurting him. We had just started out and he said he thought it was harder riding outside than in a virtual environment (riding Zwift for his training). I knew right then I was faster as I was feeling good, but just kept my poker face and all of a sudden I could hear Coach Chad in my head saying, stay relaxed, stay in the drops, light over the top and pull, use the 4 pedaling quadrants, and keep your sit bones on the saddle. Listening to the Podcasts, listening to Nate and Jonathan talk about their races, and I let those voices in my head take over. So, I let the guys set the pace and drafted off them for the most part. I would take pulls but didn’t push it until mile 45. I then began to increase the pace. At the 50-mile mark I was close to making it under 3hrs, which was another goal (Beat last years’ time of 3:28hr). I increased the pace and they could not keep up. I was able to ride them off my wheel. That was very satisfying as I knew I could maintain 20-22mph the last 5 mile. I finished the ride at 2:59:05. The training programs which TR provides has made me a faster, stronger rider. Thank you guys!, great podcast, and training workouts. Keep up the excellent work, I can now share my secret with the guys I ride with. I am already ahead of them and will continue to train with TR and listening to your podcasts. Your podcast makes my DC commute so much more bearable...and less stressful. Maybe I will look at racing next year or sign up for one later this year, we'll see.

Scott S. / United States

2 years ago

Motivated after 35years of cycling

After planning a trip to Spain this spring, friends who have done TR for several years suggested I try it. I'm a 58 year old female, have ridden longer than I haven't and wanted to be prepared for the mountains in the Sierra Nevada, Spain region. Cycling with men younger than myself has always been challenging and was motivated to be able to keep up. I have followed structured winter training programs before, but nothing compares to TrainerRoad. I actually look forward to going to the basement in the dead of a Canadian winter! Can't say how much I enjoy the structured training plans, the written texts on most of the workouts and the weekly Podcasts. I really appreciate you having Amber Pierce as well, what a wonder addition to your podcasts. I've got 5 weeks before Spain and look forward to seeing how all my hard work pays off. Keep up the good work! Krysta Whitney Canada

Krysta W. / Canada

2 years ago

A member since 2013 when it was beta

I stumbled across TR many years ago, would love to actually know what number member I was, bet it was low. I love it, love the structure, love the in ride instructions and it has kept me being able to define myself as a cyclist through years of very busy times. I even played around with other products for a while, you know the ones, but the structure wasn't there. Then I stumbled over the podcast, consumed the whole back catalogue over 18 months. 5 stars from me, love it love it love it.

Shane D. / New Zealand

2 years ago

Amazing!!!

The information provided in these podcasts is amazing! Very well researched and explained well. I specifically like how even when they do not agree with a certain type of training, or style of dieting, they still uphold the merit of that fad, or what have you. Intermittent fasting for example - Coach Chad talks about how intermittent fasting is extremely effective in losing weight; referencing Jason Fong multiple times, but it is not effective for endurance athletes like us cyclists. It gives us looking for answers a unique understanding of what is essential for cyclists to maintain performance and increase FTP, W/kg, or whatever it is we seek, rather than focus on what can help you attain the best results with a certain factor of racing, i.e. weight. The other thing I enjoy is the race results, as well as the guest starring of THOR - Pete. It's nice to have real world contribution from a Pro Conti rider! 5+ stars for these guys! Amazing content and always fun to see them at my local races.

Griffin N. / United States