Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews
Learn More Sign Up Now
Back To Reviews

Review TrainerRoad

* Indicates Required Field

About You

Your email will be used to verify membership with TrainerRoad and to follow up with any questions regarding your review.

Review

Your Cycling Background

  • Road
  • Triathlon
  • Mountain Bike
  • Cyclocross
  • Track
  • Recreation
  • Commute
  • 0-5 Years Experience
  • 6-10 Years Experience
  • 11-20 Years Experience
  • 21+ Years Experience
  • iOS (iPhone & iPad)
  • Android (Phone & Tablet)
  • Windows (Desktop)
  • Mac (Desktop)

Select all that apply

This section will be shared with TrainerRoad only and will not show up in your review.

WORKOUTS AND COUNTING

HERE’S WHAT RIDERS SAY.

Leave a Review

2 months ago

Very good software!

Used it to significantly improve my FTP and performance over the winter, and now use it outside! Highly recommend

Maxim L. / United States

4 months ago

My TR Fitness Level has Increased...Yeah!

So this weekend Saturday May 4th, 2019 was our annual eastern shore ride. It is the Eagleman 70.3 bike course which is a 56 mile ride that was really fun but the best part…I was faster and stronger then the guys I rode with. I knew it within the first 5 miles into the ride. As we were riding along at 19mph one guy said this pace was hurting him. We had just started out and he said he thought it was harder riding outside than in a virtual environment (riding Zwift for his training). I knew right then I was faster as I was feeling good, but just kept my poker face and all of a sudden I could hear Coach Chad in my head saying, stay relaxed, stay in the drops, light over the top and pull, use the 4 pedaling quadrants, and keep your sit bones on the saddle. Listening to the Podcasts, listening to Nate and Jonathan talk about their races, and I let those voices in my head take over. So, I let the guys set the pace and drafted off them for the most part. I would take pulls but didn’t push it until mile 45. I then began to increase the pace. At the 50-mile mark I was close to making it under 3hrs, which was another goal (Beat last years’ time of 3:28hr). I increased the pace and they could not keep up. I was able to ride them off my wheel. That was very satisfying as I knew I could maintain 20-22mph the last 5 mile. I finished the ride at 2:59:05. The training programs which TR provides has made me a faster, stronger rider. Thank you guys!, great podcast, and training workouts. Keep up the excellent work, I can now share my secret with the guys I ride with. I am already ahead of them and will continue to train with TR and listening to your podcasts. Your podcast makes my DC commute so much more bearable...and less stressful. Maybe I will look at racing next year or sign up for one later this year, we'll see.

Scott S. / United States

6 months ago

Motivated after 35years of cycling

After planning a trip to Spain this spring, friends who have done TR for several years suggested I try it. I'm a 58 year old female, have ridden longer than I haven't and wanted to be prepared for the mountains in the Sierra Nevada, Spain region. Cycling with men younger than myself has always been challenging and was motivated to be able to keep up. I have followed structured winter training programs before, but nothing compares to TrainerRoad. I actually look forward to going to the basement in the dead of a Canadian winter! Can't say how much I enjoy the structured training plans, the written texts on most of the workouts and the weekly Podcasts. I really appreciate you having Amber Pierce as well, what a wonder addition to your podcasts. I've got 5 weeks before Spain and look forward to seeing how all my hard work pays off. Keep up the good work! Krysta Whitney Canada

Krysta W. / Canada

6 months ago

A member since 2013 when it was beta

I stumbled across TR many years ago, would love to actually know what number member I was, bet it was low. I love it, love the structure, love the in ride instructions and it has kept me being able to define myself as a cyclist through years of very busy times. I even played around with other products for a while, you know the ones, but the structure wasn't there. Then I stumbled over the podcast, consumed the whole back catalogue over 18 months. 5 stars from me, love it love it love it.

Shane D. / New Zealand

6 months ago

Amazing!!!

The information provided in these podcasts is amazing! Very well researched and explained well. I specifically like how even when they do not agree with a certain type of training, or style of dieting, they still uphold the merit of that fad, or what have you. Intermittent fasting for example - Coach Chad talks about how intermittent fasting is extremely effective in losing weight; referencing Jason Fong multiple times, but it is not effective for endurance athletes like us cyclists. It gives us looking for answers a unique understanding of what is essential for cyclists to maintain performance and increase FTP, W/kg, or whatever it is we seek, rather than focus on what can help you attain the best results with a certain factor of racing, i.e. weight. The other thing I enjoy is the race results, as well as the guest starring of THOR - Pete. It's nice to have real world contribution from a Pro Conti rider! 5+ stars for these guys! Amazing content and always fun to see them at my local races.

Griffin N. / United States

7 months ago

Mills 1 year ago versus Mills today

December 2017 I was goofing off with TR just doing a mixture of workouts. Canceled in February when the weather improved. I also didn’t understand what structured training really meant. Fast forward to today, nearly finished with SSB MV2 (now understanding structure). I completed Mills and felt great, even increased it 5% for the last set! I then saw in January 2018 I attempted Mills and failed mid-way through the second set at an FTP 30 watts lower than it was today. Wow. Thank you TrainerRoad for making me awesome. I definitely will not be canceling this February :heart:

Randi A. / United States

7 months ago

From 2.5w/kg to 4.35w/kg

TR hurts in the pain cave but it makes you faster - for sure. You'll beat guys with 5000km or more on the road because - not all TSS are created equal. On peak times, I ended up on roughly 4.7w/kg - on the same trainer with the same bike settings. This is fun on the roller and even much more outside!

Matthias / Switzerland

7 months ago

LOVE

A friend recommended the podcast with Amber Pierce so I started there and now I'm hooked. Love listening to you all talk about my favorite sport. :)

Stephanie

7 months ago

perché sito solo in inglese?

finché il sito di trainerroad sarà solo in inglese non ci penso proprio ad abbonarmi, anche se sono certo che trainerroad è molto valido

Nikolaj / Italy

7 months ago

Amazing

So first of all I love the podcast and it gives a lot of helpful tips. I love the programs I can do, because there are only so many preset up workouts on Zwift and I love the variety. Overall Great!

Katie S. / United States

7 months ago

So much good stuff!

I'm just getting back into serious cycling in the last 6 months and started using the "video game" app to help make indoor riding more enjoyable. I quickly burned through their intermediate/advanced plans and after getting hooked on the Ask A Cycling Coach podcast I signed up for TrainerRoad to take it to the next level. I was able to easily build a tailored plan for my goals this year and the calendar has been amazing! I love the in depth descriptions provided by Coach Chad for both the plans and the workouts, you really know what you're getting into and what you'll get out of it. Amazing product, great resources with things like the forum and I'm expecting big things coming into this years road race season. Thank you!

Jason B. / United States

7 months ago

I wish 4.5 stars was an option...

Giving only 4 stars feels a bit harsh but for me TrainerRoad isn't perfect to warrant 5 stars. I was drawn to TrainerRoad back in 2014 and have been a user on and off ever since with only the past couple of years using seriously. Initially it was the ability to follow other workouts from Graeme Street (Cyclo-Core) and then Sufferfest workouts (before they had their own platform and they were removed) that pulled me in. As I got more serious about training and wanting to target specific events that's when I found the benefit of TrainerRoads own plans. They cover every scenario and volume level I will ever need although I would like to see them introduce more non trainer workouts that are of benefit to cyclists as supplemental to their current plans. The podcast has been an invaluable source of knowledge over the past few years and I think I've pretty much listened to every episode now. Recently the introduction of the calendar and ride analysis features has really been a huge improvement and I know longer have any need to pay for Strava because of this. The forum has also been a welcome addition and is way better than using Facebook for posing questions to fellow subscribers. So why not 5 stars? Well the plans are 5 star and the only feature I can find fault with (and this may not even be TrainerRoads fault) is the Powermatch feature when using a power meter alongside an erg mode trainer. I know I'm not the only one with frustrations on this as there is plenty of comment on this in the forum and a feel it's an area that needs improvement. I'm cautious of being over critical given TrainerRoad don't make powermeters or trainers so it's always a matter of integrating with 3rd parties which can be difficult. That being said I am using pretty popular and mainstream products so not a home built products I'm expecting TrainerRoad to integrate faultlessly with. The other item that pulls down the rating is previously mentioned regarding the addition of non trainer workouts as an additional option. Looking forward to what new features are coming in 2019.

Phil C. / United Kingdom

7 months ago

Everything you need to get fast

The massive workout library and the well thought out plans make TrainerRoad a great fit for 99% of athletes out there. Stick to the plan, listen to the podcasts, look after yourself outside of training and racing and you WILL get faster with TR. It's that simple.

Justin H. / Australia

7 months ago

Best for all cyclists needing a "push"

Been a paying subscriber since day one (2011 ?) and have tried all the other options but nothing keeps me motivated as the workouts in TR.

Bill D. / United States

7 months ago

GREAT value for money !!!!

I started using trainerroad 3 months ago and improved my FTP 15% . Before i was riding outside and doing a lot of "junk" miles now with trainerroad i can achieve BETTER results in a shorter time . Consistently measuring your progress is a great motivator and keeps you focused. It's not only a great software tool but they also have great resources like their forum where everybody is happy to help !

Thomas D. / Belgium

7 months ago

Structured training made easy

I say easy, you have to be prepared to commit to the plans and turn up for the session but other than that, it's training made easy. The sessions are challenging, varied and you can focus on specialties as you progress. This is my second year as a TR user and I can honestly say that I'm enjoying it. The more I use TR the more I learn about myself as an athlete and this encourages me to focus. Would I recommend TR to someone looking for structured training? Without hesitation. Has it made me faster? I'll let this seasons results be the judge of that!

Nick C. / United Kingdom

7 months ago

Best Training Product Available

Quite simply the guys at TrainerRoad know what they’re doing. From training plans to podcasts with the added bonus of the performance analytics, calendar and great community this will make you a faster cyclist. Trust in the process and you will achieve your goals & beat your competition!

Lewis R. / United Kingdom

7 months ago

Life changing

As a long term trainerroad user of about 6 years, I can say without exaggeration that it has been life changing. Firstly it enables me to have efficient and effective exercise to maintain my health within a busy lifestyle, and secondly it has improved my fitness hugely. I even used it to rehab from a femur fracture, and it gave me a way to monitor improvement, which helped from both a physical and psychological perspective. The product is great (and continually improving), the support is exceptional (there are no other products or services I can think of where raising a support query leaves me with a good feeling!), and the guidance from the trainerroad team via the podcast is entertaining and useful. All in all I can't praise the trainerroad team enough, well done.

M B. / United Kingdom

7 months ago

Brevity is the Soul of Wit and TrainerRoads Secret to Success

2017 was the fastest and strongest riding season I've had since getting back into cycling in 2007. Winters brought mixed feelings about going to the basement to get on the bike, but a new smart trainer and a new subscription to TrainerRoad turned the "all-to-frequent" debate in my head about riding or doing something else, as I descended the stairs, into an "I can't wait to ride my bike on the trainer" experience. A perfect system for the time crunched cyclist (The Brevity). So many plans and ways to customize your training. Winter training and, frankly, year round indoor training became a whole new world. I love it and I WILL NEVER QUIT MY SUBSCRIPTION unless I'm dead or can no longer ride a bike. I hope the former comes before the latter.

Lance K. / United States

7 months ago

Does what it says on the tin.

It promises to provide well thought out , tried and tested plans and it does exactly that. The calendar is now the killer feature and combined with the analytics functionality there is no need for Training Peaks or Strava Premium. The user interface is nice and simple and works well on my PC. Th bonus is the podcast which whilst available to anybody really does demonstrate the commitment the TrainerRoad team have towards developing better cyclists.

John H. / United Kingdom